Where SOME Country Artists Stand with LGBT Support

advocate.com has listing of some country artists who, in their words, “Support LGBT Equality.” While some of the quotes are more shrugs than support from their shoulders, I thought it was at least worth a highlight to see where some country artists stand. Excerpt below:

Reba McEntire
In 2009, Out asked the singer-actress about conservative fans who might not support LGBT equality. “I just try not to judge,” she said. “Don’t judge me, and I won’t judge you. And that’s what it says in the Bible — ‘Don’t judge.’ Keep an open mind. That would be my voice. I have gay friends. I have a lot of straight friends. I don’t judge them. I take them for what they are. They’re my friends, and I can’t defend my feelings for them, other than I like ’em.”

I’ve mentioned before on this blog that I would like to see country artists come out more forcefully in support of LGBT equality. Their ability to impact the hearts of minds of their own fan base; retain them and gain new fans within the LGBT community is something I think they grossly underestimate.

Read the full article

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

