Time Capsule Quote of the Day: Chick-fil-A and Families

Time for another time capsule post, where I take a quote from today and put it into a virtual time capsule to bring out at some later date and see if it holds true. Today’s quote comes from Chick-fil-A, a company who has given support to anti-equality entities:

Some have opposed the company’s support of the traditional family. “Well, guilty as charged,” said Cathy when asked about the company’s position.

“We are very much supportive of the family — the biblical definition of the family unit. We are a family-owned business, a family-led business, and we are married to our first wives. We give God thanks for that.

“We operate as a family business … our restaurants are typically led by families; some are single. We want to do anything we possibly can to strengthen families. We are very much committed to that,” Cathy emphasized.

“We intend to stay the course,” he said. “We know that it might not be popular with everyone, but thank the Lord, we live in a country where we can share our values and operate on biblical principles.” — Dan Cathy; ‘Guilty as charged,’ Cathy says of Chick-fil-A’s stand on biblical & family values; Baptist Press; July 16, 2012

With companies like Starbucks, JC Penny and even Target becomming more and more inclusive and supportive of equality, I expect that it will only be a matter of time before Chick-fil-A alters their course to include families headed by same-sex partners. I don’t expect this happen soon, but when it does I’ll be cracking open the time capsule to re-post this gem.

This entry was posted in Quotes, Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time Capsule Quote of the Day: Chick-fil-A and Families

  1. Toast avernaty says:

    Is equality really equal. It seems odd to me that you can say Christianity is wrong and get away with it, whereas if I say homesexuality is wrong it’s viewed as bigoted. This is the entire thesis of your blog. It is not truly equal. Please live up to your standards. Until that point I will continue to view you with the soft bigotry of low expectations.

    • cowboyramdc says:

      Toast, thanks for you comment. The thesis of the blog is not if Christianity is right or wrong; it is if the particular belief regarding hosexuality is right or wrong. I do think that particular belief is wrong, discrimintory and, yes, biggoted. I think this way due to the particular harm that this belief causes for Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) folks.

      There are many aspects of Christianity that are wonderful and that I applaud: helping the downtroden and marinalized, faith, and finding personal strength through your belief. However, many of these themes are at odd with how the LGBT community is treated. And that is why I choose to debate on this subject.

  2. Toast avernaty says:

    Wait, wait, wait. When I left my earlier post I thought that perhaps you were “open minded” enough to listen…… But then I saw you say “My name is Patrick (know as CowboyRam in gay rodeo/cowboy circles)” in your about me section

    I recant my earlier statement upon the grounds of foolishness on my part for getting involved with a so called “cowboy ram”. I should have been perceptive enough to realize you shall not listen. But, alas, I did not read the About me section until it was to late.

    • cowboyramdc says:

      I am always willing to listen, Toast. Open minded, actually, means just that; being willing to listen to new ideas, arguements and points of view. I do listen to them, yet remain unconvinced that they are better or correct.

Leave a Reply

