Quote of the Day: PFLAG Founder Jeanne Manford

Jeanne Manford, founder of the Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG), passed away today at the age of 92. I read a collection of short stories from parents and family members of gays called Out of the Closet and Into Our Hearts: Celebrating Our Gay/Lesbian Family Members. Jeanne Manford’s story leads off this compelation and the quote on the first page of her story has always been something that stuck with me because it was so forthright, truthful and classy.

“One night I got a phone call that my son had been arrested. The police officer, expecting to shock me, said, ‘You know, your son is a homosexual.’

I replied ‘Yes, I know. Why are you bothering him? Why don’t you go after criminals and stop harassing gays?'”

Cheers to pioneer ally

This entry was posted in LGBT History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

