Chely Wright Baby Announcement on Country Music Websites; a Sign of Progress?

Country Weekly has surprised me! The music magazine had put in a baby announcement for country music star Chely Wright and her wife. Even naming her as such in the article:

Congratulations are in order for country star Chely Wright and her wife, Lauren Blitzer Wright, who announced during an interview with Howard Bragman on Gwist TV that they are expecting twins. — ‘Chely Wright Expecting Twins’, countryweekly.com, published: January 23, 2013

I had heard the news that country music star Chely Wright and her wife were going to be having twins, but I never expected it to make the country music sites. Chely has said in the when she came out as gay that very few country stars supported her and even fewer did it publicly. I thought that stations and, especially, Country Weekly would be too conservative to put something like that up. I was wrong.

Even my own hometown station of 98.7 WMZQ has put out the announcement! When I first moved to this city MZQ was viewed as not very accepting or tolerant of gays and lesbians at all.

Could this a sign of progress for the country community? We’ll have to wait and see, but I sure hope so.

This entry was posted in Music, National LGBT News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment