Lost of Great Country Talent, Mindy McCeady To Suicide

From CMT.com:

Mindy McCready was found dead Sunday (Feb. 17) in Heber Springs, Ark., of an apparently self-inflicted gunshot wound. She was 37.
According to a statement issued by the Cleburne County sheriff’s department, authorities received a report at 3:31 p.m. of gunshots fired in the vicinity of McCready’s home. When officers arrived on the scene at 3:58 p.m., they discovered her body on the porch. She was pronounced dead at the scene from what appeared to be a single self-inflicted gunshot wound.

McCready was best known for her hits “Guys Do It All The Time” and “Ten Thousand Angels,” which was about asking for strength to overcome an old flame:

Lead me not into temptation/
Heaven help me to be strong/
I can fight all that I’m feeling/
But I can’t do it alone/
Help me break this spell that I’m under/
Guide my feet and hold me tight/
I need ten thousand angels/
Watching over me tonight/

Mindy was a great talent and had an incredible voice. Unfortunately, personal problems overtook what could have been a career on par with the likes of Reba McEntire. Mindy was that good; country’s blonde-headed Reba. Mindy was a dove who had her wings broken too many times to fly again.

If you find yourself in need of help, please get it. Tell one person. If they don’t listen; tell the next and the next and the next. Someone is out there who will listen. It may be work to find them, but is well worth it.

National Listing of Suicide Hotlines

Visit the American Foundation For Suicide Prevention

Read the full CMT article

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

