Gay Dance Troupe Now Part of Smithsonian

Photo of my DC Cowboys calendar; signed by Kevin

Photo of my DC Cowboys calendar; signed by Kevin

The DC Cowboys, a local dance troupe from Washington, D.C. that performed from 1994 until 2012 will now have it’s own place in history. The Smithsonian Institution will be archiving DC Cowboys memorabilia. From Washington D.C.’s METROWEEKLY:

”They called me out of the blue and wanted to meet with me,” Platte says of a process that began months ago. ”I was honored and surprised, went down to the museum and met with archivists.”

Those archivists are now set to have another meeting with Platte, Aug. 20. That’s when a team will arrive at Platte’s home to collect all the memorabilia – from tour itineraries and costumes to performance photos and fundraising calendars – he’s stored over the years…

Hmmmm…I wonder if the Smithsonian would want any of my Gay Rodeo memorabilia. I’ll store it ’till they call.

Read the full article

Related
DC Cowboys Dance Troupe Heads Off Into the Sunset

This entry was posted in LGBT History, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

