Interview With Author, Activist and Transgender Man, Ryan Sallans

From Baltimore Gay Life:

As a kid growing up in Nebraska, Ryan Sallans always felt different. Now in his 30s, Sallans has grown up to become a proclaimed writer, public speaker, and out-and-proud transman. Last year, Sallans published his memoir, Second Son: Transitioning Toward my Destiny, Love and Life, in which he discusses his early struggles (and eventual triumphs) with a debilitating eating disorder and gender identity, while also giving a unique insight into the day-to-day life of a trans man.

[snip]

The book focuses on your struggles with an eating disorder. How do you deal with now that you are post-op?
The hardest section of the book to write was the eating disorder section, because it was such a painful time in my life. It was even more painful than the rejection experienced when I first transitioned. It was hard for me to go back to that space and be in those moments. It was and is definitely a struggle for me.

Second Son has a photo of you doing a hormone injection. Why did you decide to include that in the book, but no other medical photos?
Because I didn’t think anyone wants to see bits and stuff. [Laughs] I do have photos from the surgery on my website and YouTube. However, for the book, I wanted to keep it artistic. That [hormone injection photo] series that the photographer took was so strong and shows what people have to do every ten days—it is part of my manhood. Hormones are so powerful for transitioning individuals, it’s a cornerstone for transitioning individual, and it is the one thing that I will continue to do for the rest of my life.

Read the full article

This entry was posted in Transgender and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

