Gender Politics and Toys

The below editorial post was written by Laurie Duron, blogger of Raising My Rainbow, which chronicles Duron’s journey as she raises a “boy who likes girl stuff.” While the editorial was written for Christmas, the message within it is relevant for any gift-buying/-giving occasion:

We make a point to tell little girls that they can be anything they want to be: doctors, lawyers, scientists, engineers, president. But we shy away from giving little boys the same courtesy of unlimited potential. How often do we tell boys that they would make a wonderful primary caregiver parent, elementary school teacher, hairstylist, fashion designer, dancer, nurse, spouse of the president?

I wish we lived in that kind of world. I think we are moving in the right direction; I just wish we were moving a little faster.

I sat down at my computer to order Julie the American Girl. I entered my order, my shipping information, my billing information — and then American Girl asked me about the girl for whom I was buying the doll. They wanted to know my daughter’s birthday. I don’t have a daughter. I have a son; a son who wants Julie for Christmas and who wants to see a boy playing with a doll in a catalog. Those are the two things that he wants most for Christmas. I can only give him one, and dream that maybe next year his second wish will come true.

Read the full editorial

Related

Meet Rainbow Mom Lori Duron, Mother of Gender Non-Conforming Child

Meet Rainbow Dad: My Son Wear’s Dresses; Get Over It

Why It Gets Better: Dads Standing Up For Their Kids

This entry was posted in Gender Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

