‘Do I Sound Gay?’ Documentary to Explore the Gay Voice; Literally

David Thorpe is producing a documentary to explore the tone of the gay male voice and if, in some people, it is a give away to sexual orientation.

Confession: I’ve always been self-conscious about “sounding gay.” It’s one of the main things that “gives me away” as gay. Three years ago, I decided I’d had enough. I knew that my anxiety came from my internalized homophobia telling me: Gay = bad, so sounding gay = bad. So, I decided to make DO I SOUND GAY?

Do I Sound Gay Banner

In the tradition of funny-but-serious first-person movies like Supersize Me, Roger and Me and Good Hair, you’ll follow me as I encounter a colorful cast of linguists, historians, voice coaches, speech therapists, friends, family, and total strangers on the street, gay and non-gay, who share their wisdom and touching, funny stories about the “gay voice.” You’ll also hear intimate confessions and hilarious anecdotes from LGBT icons – Margaret Cho, Tim Gunn, Don Lemon, Dan Savage, David Sedaris and George Takei – as they open up about the “gay voice.” Thanks to all the incredible people I met, I was able to embrace my authentic voice.

Now I’d like you to join our campaign and share your voice!

Thorpe’s project has ended it’s filming stage, but he has begun a Kickstarter Campaign to fund the post-production.

Initially, I thought this idea wasn’t worth exploring because everyone hates their voice. I suspect Barry White may have even hated his voice at some point. However, watching the video pitch changed my mind. The project goes deeper into exploring how the sound of some gay men’s voices effected their self-esteem and outlook of themselves. It is really more of an examination of the sociological and psychological effect the quality of your voice has on you as an individual and as a community. This, I thought, was a much more worthy endeavor than the title of the documentary belies.

Read more about the production of Do I Sound Gay and watch the pitch video

This entry was posted in film and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

