Meet Pete Cahall, Principal and Newly Out Gay Man, In His Own Words

Pete Cahall, principal of Woodrow Wilson High School in Washington, D.C. came out as gay man for the first time to his student body during their June 4, 2014 pride event. Cahall’s coming out made headlines around the country. Now, in a Washington Post article, hear a little bit of background about the man himself:

I grew up in South Jersey; we lived pay check to pay check. My parents raised me Baptist and I used to attend church every week. At church, we were taught that homosexuality is the ultimate sin. As a child, I was told that homosexuals are going straight to Hell.I struggled with this concept, even in elementary school. Why, I wondered, would God create me as a gay man but then sentence me to Hell?

This was a rough time for me. In middle school, I was bullied. I was a tall kid with acne, and people used to call me ‘fag.’ It got so bad that there were days I didn’t want to go to school. Why, I wondered, would God create me as a gay man but then sentence me to Hell?

High school was different. I went out for the football team; I played basketball. All of a sudden, I was well-liked; I had friends. I even ran for class president. My whole life changed in high school, that’s why I became an educator.

Read the full article

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

