Sharing A Disney Princess Memory with Your Gender Non-Conforming Son

Lori Duron is a mom to a gender non-confirming child, C.J. She writes about her experiences at her blog entitled Raising My Rainbow. In an excerpt from one of her posts below, Lori gives us an example of how to be the best farther you can to such a child by doing something ordinary; sharing an experience of something your child loves together:

We took Chase and C.J. to Disneyland on Easter Sunday. We only had 30 minutes to spare before our dinner reservations. We were trying to cut quickly across the park to ride the Matterhorn Bobsleds. We were stopped in our tracks by Mickey’s Soundsational Parade. We had to go right or go left. We had to hurry. Chase was impatient. Matt saw Ariel atop a float, headed down Main Street straight for us. He whisked C.J. up, onto his shoulders.

“You take Chase and ride The Matterhorn. I’m staying right here with C.J. so he can see the princesses. We’ll meet you at dinner,” he said.

“But…” I started to argue.

“No. Go,” Matt said, looking at the approaching princesses, not me.

Later he told me that C.J. screamed uncontrollably and clapped wildly as the princesses came into his view. He waved to the princesses and lost his words in the thrill of the moment. He was overcome with happiness, and so was Matt.

“You should have seen him. He was out of his mind when he saw them. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him like that. And, I’m glad it was me who was with him. Just me and him,” Matt said over dinner when the kids weren’t paying attention.

Initially, I felt a tinge of jealousy because I hadn’t been there to witness C.J.’s unbridled reaction. The jealously faded quickly. I’m glad they shared that moment, forever in their minds. A father and son and the Disney Princesses.

Read the full blog post

This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

