Vandal burns gay pride flag; DC woman puts it back up ‘higher and prouder’

From WJLA in Washington, DC:

A rainbow flag had been flying freely with pride on Gales Street NE. Until this past Sunday.

“I came home from work and my neighbors tipped me off that it was burned and left on the sidewalk,” explained Shawna Dinger.

The flag is covered with melted burn marks now.

“I was actually sad and heartbroken at first, because I don’t understand that kind of hate,” Dinger said. “I figured it was coming off the Charlottesville weekend.”…

[The rainbow flag is] now screwed to a second-floor window. She also put up this message.

“To whoever tore down and burned my gay pride flag: I hung it up higher and prouder than before. It was a little low.”

Along with the quote: “Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.” -Martin Luther King Jr.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

